2012: A Fresh Start

Hello all,

It might seem like it has been a long time coming, but I am just getting around to this blogging business. For a long time I toyed with the idea, tortured myself over the concept and its relevance to the wider order of things in this world and at the dawn of this new year, I’ve reached a very sound conclusion: “just get on with it”.

You have to start somewhere, there will always be a first post, there will always be the awkward beginning of something that is not fully formed yet, but I am hopeful that I can develop this blog into a meaningful repository of my work/life experiences.

When I really think about it, it is no surprise that it has taken me so long to get around to writing a blog: 2011 has been a year of unprecedented change for me, on the professional front especially.

As my title descriptor on twitter aptly describes, I lead the Urban Informatics Team at Arup. I’ve taken this role over from Dan Hill, the man of cityofsound.com himself. As a true Gen-Yer, I bring this up because my life and work are becoming increasingly intertwined, which probably means that I am a lucky woman to have a job so closely aligned with my personal interests…

This blog is going to be about the evolution of my thinking, probably through the prism of my work. As I come across interesting people, projects and the ensuing insights into how digital connectivity and information is changing the way we use our cities, I will sharing those with you. My aim is to mix photography to articles and interviews. Let’s see how we go!

So to all of you out there, have a good start to 2012. It’s starting well for feltysurface.

Comments
One Response to “2012: A Fresh Start”
  1. Great stuff – I look forward to reading more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

